Frontiers in Virtual Reality – Online Seminar Series

The Editorial board of Frontiers in Virtual Reality is pleased to present a series of virtual seminars that will take place over the coming weeks. These seminars are aimed at students, researchers and practitioners in the fields of virtual and augmented reality and its applications. Interested members of the public would also be welcome.

**Please note, the final panel event of the series – Ethics Issues in Virtual and Augmented Reality – is postponed until further notice. We apologize for any inconvenience.**

The seminars will be live-streamed on YouTube via this link: 
https://www.youtube.com/c/xuenipan

Questions can be put to the speakers through the YouTube comments.

All the times displayed are in Central European Summer Time (UTC+2)

SpeakerTitleDate & time
Mel Slater
melslater@ub.edu
Transforming the self through virtual reality11th May,
3:00pm CEST
Panel Session
Sylvia Pan (moderator)
Doron Friedman
Anthony Steed
Dave Haynes
(VIVE)
Dr Chi Xu
(Nreal)
XR for bringing people together in times of lockdown and post-COVID13th May,
4:00pm CEST
Carolina Cruz Neira
carolina@acm.org
Virtual Reality as the New Innovation Engine14th May,
6:00pm CEST
Anthony Steed
a.steed@ucl.ac.uk
Technical Challenges of Mixed Reality18th May,
3:00pm CEST
Doug Bowman
dbowman@vt.edu
Augmented Reality as the Future of Personal Computing20th May,
6:00pm CEST
Xueni (Sylvia) Pan
x.pan@gold.ac.uk
Virtual Characters: from training to immersive gaming21st May,
3:00pm CEST
Eyal Ofek
eyalofek@microsoft.com
Haptics for VR27th May,
6:00pm CEST
Doron Friedman
doronf@idc.ac.il
Brain Control Interfaces (BCI) for VR: Explicit Control and Beyond1st June,
4:00pm CEST
Mar Gonzelez-Franco
margon@microsoft.com
Impossible outside virtual reality4th June,
6:00pm CEST
Massimo Bergamasco
massimo.bergamasco
@santannapisa.it
Haptic Interaction in Virtual Environments5th June,
3:00pm CEST
Albert Skip Rizzo
rizzo@ict.usc.edu
Virtual Reality Exposure Therapy for PTSD8th June,
6:00pm CEST
Ronan Boulic
ronan.boulic@epfl.ch
Ensuring Self-Presence through Embodied Interaction in Immersive VR12th June,
3:00pm CEST
Frank Steinicke
frank.steinicke@uni-hamburg.de
Virtuality-Reality Interaction in Blended Reality Spaces17th Jun
4:00pm CEST
Panel Session
Dali Szostak
Patrick Haggard
Zilah Watson
Cristina Gonzalez-Liencres
Steve Jelley
Jeremy Silver
Sylvia Pan
Mel Slater
Ethics Issues in Virtual and Augmented Reality24th June 4:00pm CEST
**POSTPONED**

Thanks to Sylvia Xueni Pan and Mar Gonzalez-Franco for technical help in making this possible.

Launched in December 2019, Frontiers in Virtual Reality is one of Frontiers’ newest journals, offering a dedicated open access platform for the latest work in the field of Virtual Reality.

We are in the process of launching our first article collections – if you have a theme in mind and would like to be involved, please email us at virtualreality@frontiersin.org